Moonrise Kingdom Soundtrack Details Released

The first details of the Moonrise Kingdom soundtrack have been released by ABCKO Records, the company that also released the soundtracks to The Darjeeling Limited and Fantastic Mr. Fox. The soundtrack, which is due to be released on May 22, will feature Françoise Hardy, Hank Williams, Alexandre Desplat, music performed by Leonard Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic, and classical composer Benjamin Britten, whose majestic choral opera “Noye’s Fluddes,” evidently “ignites the film’s young lovers.” No stranger to Wes Anderson films, Marc Mothersbaugh also contributes a track.

The soundtrack is available for pre-order on Amazon, but does not yet have a soundtrack listing.

Françoise Hardy’s Le Temps de l’Amour was featured in the first trailer for Moonrise Kingdom, so no surprises there. The mix of the French Yé-Yé with American country and classical compositions would be strange in anyone else’s film, but it seems quintessentially Wes.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.